We’ve all heard the rumors over and over about companies sniping domain names as they are checked for whois. So, when I saw this on Slashdot today, I wasn’t totally surprise. At first glance it looked like the same old story. But then, I read a little closer and this time it’s actually happening! I checked myself. I went to NetworkSolutions.com and checked the availability of betaflowdomainsnipe.com. Shockingly enough, it was available! Five minutes later, a check via a non-NetworkSolutions whois showed the domain as registered. Putting that domain in my browser brought me to a nice page where Network Solutions tells me my domain is available.

So what’s the motivation for NetSol here? As a registrar they can dump domains within a 5 day grace period. If you check a domain with their site, you will be unable to register that domain with any other registrar until Network Solutions cancels the domain.

I have contacted Network Solutions for a comment on this situation.
Update - 1/8 21:13 EST: Network Solutions spokesperson Susan Wade has responded to my initial inquiry. “We’ve implemented a customer protection measure that defends our customers against front runners — people who register domain names known to have been searched, for the purpose of monetizing them and then selling them at inflated prices either directly to the customer who searched for the domain or through aftermarket channels. We’ve had customers complain about this happening to them.” The domain is held for a period of up to 4 days. I’m waiting for clarification on a few more points and they’ll be posted as soon as I receive them.